A brief overview of the history of Saltburn & Marske A.S.C.


Saltburn Leisure Centre was opened in November 1973, with the swimming club being formed soon afterwards, by the then centre manager, Mr Benbow.  Enormous credit for the establishment of the Club goes to Gillian Edgar, who, together with other colleagues, Graham & Jenny Williams and Steve North, set about the task of setting up a club that has remained in healthy existence for over thirty eight years. The first Chairman was Mr Peter Nixon, who, along with Chief Coach Pat Tait, laid down the foundation of the club as it operates today. 


Many people have devoted an incredible amount of time and effort to the running of the Club since it formed. The club has brought success and enjoyment to swimmers of all ages and abilities.   The aims and objectives of the Club remain as they always have been – to promote the healthy pursuit of competitive swimming in our area, for both boys and girls.


In the past the Club has entered teams into National Biathlon and Triathlon competitions, as well as local events, frequently achieving outstanding success. The club has gone from strength to strength over the years, building on the success of the early eighties, when the club won the Moors League twice in five years. More recently the Club has won the Moors League Title in 1995, 2010 and was second in 2011. Individuals are encouraged to enter events at both District and National level, in order to achieve further recognition under the Moors League of Swimming Clubs banner.


Despite other sporting attractions within the local area, we have continued to operate a successful club, with membership of around seventy swimmers, of all ages and ability. The club is affiliated to the Amateur Swimming Association, Northumberland and Durham Swimming Association, and the Moors League of Swimming Clubs.


The Club Chairman is currently Jo Morris.